Gov’t extends visa-exemption policy for five European countries
16:37 | 05/06/2017
VGP – The Government has agreed to extend visa exemption policy for citizens from the UK, France, Germany, Spain and Italy.

Foreigners read book on Viet Nam

Minister-Chairman of the Government Office Mai Tien Dung released the news at the press conference on June 3.

The policy, which will be extended until June 30, 2018, allows citizens from the five European countries to visit Viet Nam without having to apply for visa with the time limit of stay in Viet Nam not exceeding 15 days since the day they get entry permit to Viet Nam.

This is the second time the Government extended the policy which took effect from July 1, 2015.

According to Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Nguyen Ngoc Thien, the policy has brought about positive effects on the development of the tourism sector.

Official statistics show the number of international arrivals to Viet Nam surged 30.8% in the first five months this year to over 5.3 million.

Noticeably, the extended policy forms part of the Government’s measures to ensure the preset growth goal of 6.7% this year, said Mr. Dung.

At recent Cabinet meeting, the Government tasked the tourism sector to achieve the growth rate of 30% for the rest of the year.

The Cabinet members also agreed to speed up grant of e-visa to foreigners following the Government’s introduction of Decree No. 07/2017/ND-CP guiding the pilot implementation of an e-visa scheme for visitors from 40 countries with an aim to give a boost to tourism growth, according to the Minister-Chairman who is also the Government Spokesperson.

The Decree was considered a new step towards reforming entry and exit procedures for foreign tourists, experts said./.

By Huong Giang

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address