National Committee on ASEAN Chairmanship established
15:07 | 17/12/2018

VGP – PM Nguyen Xuan Phuc issued  Decision 1743/QD-TTg, dated December 14, 2018 on the establishment of a national committee (the National ASEAN 2020 Committee) in charge of making preparations for Viet Nam to undertake the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020. 

Illustration photo

The National ASEAN 2020 Committee, headed by Deputy PM and FM Pham Binh Minh, includes 29 members. 

The Committee is responsible for helping the PM direct, supervise, coordinate, and guide the ministries, offices and localities to work in the fields related to the preparations for and implementation of the role. 

The committee comprises five subcommittees on contents, protocol issues, communications and culture, materials and logistics, and security and health care, along with the National ASEAN 2020 Secretariat.

The content sub-committee must build plans, direct, coordinate and organize the implementation of all the work related to the contents in service of Viet Nam’s ASEAN Chairmanship in the tenure; while the protocol issue sub-committee takes charge of all the work in the field in organizing major meetings and event hosted by Viet Nam in 2020.

The materials and logistics subcommittee is assigned to build plans, direct, coordinate and organize the implementation of all the work related to material and logistics in service of the meetings and events during Viet Nam’s tenure; and the communications and culture subcommittee is tasked with building plans, organizing, directing the reporting and popularizing work. As for the security and health care subcommittee, it must do all the work needed to ensure security and health care. 

For its part, the National ASEAN 2020 Secretariat will serve as the permanent body to help the National ASEAN 2020 Committee manage all the work related to Viet Nam’s performance of the ASEAN Chairmanship in 2020./.

By Kim Loan

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address