New NA leaders elected
23:32 | 23/07/2011
VGP - Deputy PM Nguyễn Sinh Hùng has been elected as Chairman of the 13th National Assembly (NA) with 457 votes, accounting for 91.4%, at the on-going first session of the 13th NA.

Party General Secretary Nguyễn Phú Trọng presents flowers to newly-elected Chairnman of the National Assembly Nguyễn Sinh Hùng, Hà Nội, July 23, 2011 - Photo: VGP

Ms. Tòng Thị Phóng, Mr. Huỳnh Ngọc Sơn and Mr. Uông Chu Lưu were re-elected as Vice Chairpersons with the voting rates being 95.8%, 97.6% and 98.4%, respectively. The other Chairperson is current Minister of Labor, War Invalids and Social Affairs Nguyễn Thị Kim Ngân with 483 votes, representing 96.6%.

The NA Standing Committee groups 17 members, including the Chairman, four Vice Chairpersons and 12 members.

The following is the list of members of the 13th NA Standing Committee:
NA Chairperson:
1. Nguyễn Sinh Hùng
NA Vice Chairpersons:
2. Uông Chu Lưu
3. Nguyễn Thị Kim Ngân
4. Tòng Thị Phóng
5. Huỳnh Ngọc Sơn
NA Standing Committee members:
6. Ksor Phước – Chairman of the NA Council of Ethnic Affairs
7. Phan Trung Lý – Chairman of the NA Law Committee
8. Nguyễn Văn Hiện – Chairman of the NA Justice Committee
9. Nguyễn Văn Giàu– Chairman of the NA Economic Committee
10. Phùng Quốc Hiển– Chairman of the NA Committee for Finance and Budget
11. Nguyễn Kim Khoa – Chairman of the NA Committee for National Defence and Security
12. Đào Trọng Thi – Chairman of the NA Committee for Culture, Education, Youth and Children
13. Trương Thị Mai – Chairwoman of the NA Committee for Social Affairs
14. Phan Xuân Dũng – Chairman of the NA Committee for Science, Technology and Environment
15. Trần Văn Hằng – Chairman of the NA Committee for External Relations
16. Nguyễn Hạnh Phúc – Chairman of the NA Office
17. Nguyễn Thị Nương – Chairwoman of the NA Committee for Deputies’ Affairs

In his inauguration speech, newly-elected NA Chairman Nguyễn Sinh Hùng thanked the NA deputies for electing 17 members to the NA Standing Committee, which, he said, is the great honor and a noble and heavy responsibility assigned by the Party, State and people.

He affirmed that the 13th NA Standing Committee will use its previous terms’ experiences and join all NA deputies in renovation, making the best use of knowledge and raising its responsibility to fully perform mission and authority stipulated in the Constitution and the law, contributing to building the NA to make it deserve to be the highest representative agency of the people and the highest State authority of Việt Nam.

After taking up office, NA Chairman Hùng read a statement nominating Mr. Trương Tấn Sang, Politburo member and permanent member of the Secretariat of the Communist Party of Việt Nam Central Committee and the 13th NA deputy, as State President./.

  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address