Visa exemption for 8 European countries to be halted since March 12
16:12 | 11/03/2020
VGP – The Government’s decision to temporarily suspend visa waiver program for citizens from 8 European countries shall take effect since 00:00 on March 12 due to complicated development of the COVID-19 epidemic, according to Foreign Ministry's Spokesperson Le Thi Thu Hang.

Foreign Ministry's Spokesperson Le Thi Thu Hang

Hang said Viet Nam had informed the above decision to the relevant countries, namely Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and Spain.

Viet Nam will continue collaborating closely with countries, international organizations and partners in the fight against the epidemic, Hang affirmed.

The latest move was announced by Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc at a meeting on COVID-19 prevention and control, held in Ha Noi on March 9.

Earlier, the Government also decided to temporarily halt unilateral visa exemption for citizens from Italy (on March 2) and South Korea (on February 28) in a bid to contain spread of the virus to Viet Nam.

The aforesaid countries are among 13 nations benefiting from the Vietnamese Government’s unilateral visa exemption program./.

By Huong Giang


  Reader opinion
Turn off Vietnamese typing Automatic typing Telex VNI VIQR  
Fullname Email address